Skill Levels

The National Occupational Classification (NOC) is Canada’s national system for describing occupations.

On November 16 2022, the Government of Canada switched to the 2021 version of the National Occupational Classification (NOC).

This means that:

  • NOC 2016 skill type and skill level structure (NOC 0, A, B, C and D) will be replaced with a 6-category system representing the training, education, experience and responsibilities (TEER) needed to work in an occupation
  • 4-digit occupation codes will become 5-digit codes  See a comparison table here.
  • Eligibility criteria when using NOC will be updated. 

To learn more, visit this IRCC page or follow this link to search the NOC to find where an occupation is classified and learn about its main duties, educational requirements or other useful information . 

Visit this link for a comprehensive NOC 2016 to NOC 2021 Conversion Guide .

Work Experience Eligibility

TEER Categories and Examples of Jobs

RNIP North Okanagan Shuswap is currently NOT accepting new applications to our waitlist. If it is determined that there is space available for additional applications, an application window will be announced on our website at that time.